Welcome! It’s time for introduction post!

”The nonsense written by philosophers on scientific matters is exceeded only by the nonsense written by scientists on philosophy – and the only thing to exceed that is the nonsense written on anime by useless uni students”

– C.D Broad-cum-Xardie

Xardism aka Zen and the Art of Anime Watching is a humble blog that purports to do little else than the name implies. The content comes from the whimsies and idiosyncracies of the upkeeper (hence Xardism part) and the blog will mostly focus on writing about anime and related fields of japanese popular culture (though not exclusively so, given the aforementioned whims). Coin the latter statement of purpose with  long running interest in Zen Buddhism and you get Zen and the Art of Anime Watching part.

I don’t hoard hopes or delusions of achieving grandeur through this blog anymore than I think cribbing on Herrigel for name was original move but I hope to present reasonably interesting content to those who share interest in fields I intend to cover. In addition to reviewing and rambling on variety of anime and other media I’ll also probably end up translating material (mostly stuff with some connection to my beloved Macross franchise) only avalaible in japanese now and then too.

Arguably the main reason for starting this blog was the fantastic We Remember Love quiting its astonishing run in October 2012. I don’t intend the blog to become some sort of placebo-WRL – I’m not a blogger of Ghostlightning’s level – but in part I hope to make the hole in Macross blogging left by WRL at least a little bit smaller. Remembering Love for the franchise is important.


About the author: I’m young finnish male which is bad enough in itself. I also happen to be philosophy major in uni which surely doubles the dame value.

In addition to being horrid weeaboo (dame quotient keeps on rising, gahh) I have strong passion for music and cinema in general. I’ve always been split between doing philosophy or cinema as my place in life (for now it’s resolved one way, for now…) and while my musicality doesn’t go much beyond listening to obscene amount of records one day I’ll hopefully master guitar well enough not to be driven off the stage by skills of my brother ten years junior.

All in all, enjoy your stay!

– Xardie

About Xard

Doesn't like films. Likes Tarkovsky and moe
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Welcome! It’s time for introduction post!

  1. Long overdue. It’ll be very good if you’d give me something to read this time. While I’ve come to learn your opinions on many shows we’ve shared viewing, it’ll be good to read them presented in a less provoked manner, as the blog post format truly allows.

    I look forward to your posts. Hit me up on Twitter or G+ if you want any advice regarding the practice of blogging. I have lots of useful if boring stuff I learned the past 4 years

    • Xard says:

      thanks ghost! I’m sure I have a lot to learn from you and sooner or later I’ll end up spamming your G+ with inane questions about this and that, don’t worry 😛

  2. Fireball says:

    Let’s do this!

  3. IOne says:

    Aw yeehhhh.

  4. Metal says:

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts. Write more!!

Leave a Reply

